Board of Directors

As a family-based organization, the work of Salem is overseen by a volunteer board of directors. They represent Salem families and the church communities in the areas of Salem homes. The board establishes major policies, approves budgets, reviews financial statements, evaluates operations, assists with fundraising, and provides support and advice to the CEO and administrative staff.

Board members serve three-year terms and are elected by the vote of the board each fall. Retiring board members help to identify and recruit new board members. There are nine members of the board who come from the local communities near Salem homes, and members who live at a distance in communities that have had a keen interest in Salem.


President: Bob De Jong

Vice President: Mark Kenny

Secretary: Debbie Ligtenberg


David De Kriek

Dave De Koekkoek

Dan Dundon

Dave McNichols

John Roeda

Henry Wind